Primary Election, Tues, August 11

by Middletown Springs on July 24, 2020

Information for voting in the August Primary

August Primary Election is Tuesday, August 11, 2020

The Board of Civil Authority has implemented the following recommendations and guidelines in regard to the upcoming August primary.


Everyone is strongly encouraged to vote in the primary using the absentee ballot process. Everyone on the voter checklist should have gotten a postcard in the mail from the Vermont Secretary of State’s office that included a postage paid absentee ballot request form. If you did not receive this postcard, you can contact the Town Clerk and request an absentee ballot.

For your added convenience, voters can use the black drop box outside the town office to securely drop off ballots when the Town Clerk is not in the office.

We strongly recommend that parents do not bring children to the polling place during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Guidelines and Requirements:

Voting will take place at the Historical Society Dining Room.

Masks will be required to enter into the Historical Society Building. All workers and voters inside the building will be wearing a face covering at all times.

Accommodations will be made at the polling location to address mobility challenged voters and those who will not or cannot wear a face covering. Staff will meet such voters outside the polling place and process their votes only when poll workers are available.

Due to space considerations and limitations, there will be a limit of two (2) voters at a time allowed in the polling place at one time.

Writing instruments will be sanitized after each use. Voters are welcome to bring their own writing instrument. Ballots will be handed out along with a sanitizing wipe so that voters can wipe down their voting space prior to voting. Additional sanitation of spaces will happen at regular intervals throughout the day.

Our goal is to allow everyone to engage in their civic duty to vote while taking the necessary precautions to minimize the risks of contracting COVID-19.  If you have questions or suggestions to enhance the safety of community members, reach out to any member of the BCA. The BCA is made up of the five town JP’s (Nora Rubinstein, Elizabeth Cooper, Leslie Silver, Patricia Hemenway, and Marth Heitkamp), the Town Clerk (Laura Castle), and the members of the Selectboard (Terry Redfield, Patty Kenyon, Carl Haynes, Heather Grier, and Neil Russell).

If you would like to request an absentee ballot, call, email, or visit the town clerk. PH: 235-2220 Email:

Previous post:

Next post: